Consolidation Working Group

The University System of Georgia announced today that Chancellor Hank M. Huckaby has appointed the following Consolidation Working Group to begin the process of consolidating Augusta State University with Georgia Health Sciences University:

  • Dr. Michael Brands, Professor & Director of Medical Physiology, GHSU
  • Mr. Clint Bryant, Director of Athletics, ASU
  • Ms. Kerry Cartledge, Employee Advisory Council Chair, GHSU
  • Dr. Gretchen Caughman, Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs and Provost, GHSU
  • Dr. Sandra Freedman, Alumna, GHSU
  • Dr. Rich Griner, Chairman and Associate Professor of Biology, ASU
  • Dr. W. Kent Guion, Vice President for Diversity and Inclusion, GHSU
  • Ms. Patricia Harris, Human Resource Specialist, ASU
  • Mr. Jeff Heck, Associate Director/Associate Professor, Reese Library, Faculty Policies Chair, ASU
  • Mr. Andrew Phillips, SGA President, ASU
  • Mr. Phillip Howard, Vice President of Facilities Service, GHSU
  • Mr. Jim Hull, Principal, Hull Storey Gibson Retail Group, Community Member
  • Mr. Cedric Johnson, Senior Vice President and Community Development Officer, First Bank of Georgia, Community Member
  • Dr. Wendy Turner, Professor of History, Anthropology, and Philosophy, ASU
  • Mr. Jim Jones, Interim Senior Vice President of Finance and CFO, GHSU
  • Ms. Caitlin Madigan, SGA President, GHSU
  • Mr. Will McKnight, Community Member
  • Mr. Robert Osborne, Georgia Bank & Trust Executive Vice President of Wealth Management, Community Member
  • Dr. Carol Rychly, Interim Vice President for Academic Affairs, ASU
  • Mr. Phil Wahl, Incoming Foundation Chair, ASU and Augusta City President Commercial Relationship Manager, First Citizens Bank
  • Ms. Victoria Worsham, Accountant, Bookstore / Staff Advisory Council, ASU

For additional information about the consolidation, please visit